The Lost Gardens of Heligan

We spent last week in Cornwall, the first nights we’ve spent away from home since All This Began in March last year. We saw three sets of friends/family in total by spending a night en route in each direction, and it was very good to see people we don’t live within 10 miles of for a change.

On a lovely, sunny day we visited the Lost Gardens of Heligan, somewhere I’ve been wanting to see since it opened in 1992. There was a glorious harvest festival display of produce in one area, but little sign of autumn in the gardens themselves. The old trees were looking magnificent …

… but my favourite area by far was the Jungle. It has its own microclimate which allows relatively tender plants to flourish here which wouldn’t survive elsewhere in the gardens, and certainly not in Yorkshire.

I loved the rope bridge across the Jungle’s steep valley, and the place was quiet enough for me to have it almost to myself.

Heligan rope bridge

But there were plenty of interesting spots in the rest of the gardens too.

We took a grieving dog with us, whose 13-year-old companion had had to be euthanised a couple of days earlier. She enjoyed her lengthy walk and meeting all the other dogs so much that she started acting like her old self again and forgetting to look around for her missing canine friend.

About yorkshirecrafter

I live and work in West Yorkshire.  I've always enjoyed crafts of all types, from woodwork to lace-making.  I also enjoy anything mathematical, which makes knitting a favourite pastime, especially complicated designs.  I've been advising businesses and industry on environmental matters for 30 years and also have an interest in green living, especially where it saves me money. I live with my husband in a 100-year-old cottage that constantly needs something doing to it.  Fortunately, I enjoy DIY too.
This entry was posted in gardening, travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.