Autumn is here

The weather has turned, big-time. One minute it was still relatively warm and sunny, the next it has become cold, dark, wet and windy. We have turned the heating on and it feels right to be knitting a woollen sweater.

Talking of heating, I don’t know who our energy supplier is at the moment. Why? The rise in wholesale gas prices in the last few months has driven a number of smaller UK suppliers into insolvency with more expected to fall over in the next few weeks. Our cheap, fixed-price contract with such a supplier ended in mid September so, a couple of weeks before that, I signed us up for a new deal with another company. Unfortunately, both company no.1 and company no.2 went bust in the changeover period and, although alternative suppliers have now taken over their customers, I don’t know whether the transfer of supply actually took place. The successor of company no.1 was certainly supplying us for a week, until the date when company no.2 was due to take over, but I’m waiting to hear from the successor of company no.2 as to whether it is now our supplier. Since at least 2 of these four companies owe us money – our account with company no.1 was in credit and company no.2 had taken the first payment in advance of the contract start date – this is going to take a while to sort out.

Yellow jacket

The Yellow Peril advances. I’ve knitted the back and both fronts, joined the shoulders and am now knitting the collar. I’ll stop when the front opening, from hem to collar edge, measures the same as my open-ended zip.

About yorkshirecrafter

I live and work in West Yorkshire.  I've always enjoyed crafts of all types, from woodwork to lace-making.  I also enjoy anything mathematical, which makes knitting a favourite pastime, especially complicated designs.  I've been advising businesses and industry on environmental matters for 30 years and also have an interest in green living, especially where it saves me money. I live with my husband in a 100-year-old cottage that constantly needs something doing to it.  Fortunately, I enjoy DIY too.
This entry was posted in knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.