Mohair – legacy of the 80s

Younger readers might not know this, but in the 1980s we liked fluff and frizz.  Our hair was poodle-permed and we wore a lot of mohair. (I know, the past is another country …)  I’m ashamed to say that I even knitted a few sweaters in brushed acrylic.

I have my own personal legacy from this period in the shape of several part balls of mohair yarn.  I used up one a few months ago by knitting a small scarf in a classic Shetland all-over lace pattern, Cat’s Paw.

blue-mohair-2The other day I came across the remains of my 30-year-old mohair stash and decided it was time it went.  To that end I have been knitting more small scarves and using them to try out different Shetland stitches.  I’m restricting myself to all-over patterns to use up as much of the yarn as possible.

The first of this new batch of scarves is a lilac version of Mrs Montague’s Pattern from Barbara Walker’s “A Treasury of Knitting Patterns“.  Ms Walker tells us that Mrs Montague was a lady-in-waiting to Queen Victoria who knitted her monarch a pair of stockings in this pattern.

Lilac mohair scarf 1

Shawl pinI chose to knit a garter stitch version because I like scarves to be reversible, as far as possible.  I simply don’t have the patience to have to think about whether a scarf is right side out when I tie it around my neck. There wasn’t much of the lilac mohair and the end result is more of a neck-warmer than a scarf.  I’m planning to make a shawl pin with some amethyst beads to fasten it, something like the one I made to wear with my green Nanook cardigan.

These scarves are really quick to knit on big needles – 6 or 6.5mm – and each one is only taking me a couple of evenings.  The next one was also from Barbara Walker’s “Treasury” – she gives three variations of Miniature Leaf.

Green mohair scarf 1At present I’m knitting a red scarf in a diamond and bead pattern – like diamonds, but with a “bead” in the middle of each.  Unlike the other three scarves, this pattern involves working lace on every row rather than every other row, and I am purling on the reverse side rows.  It’s taking longer as a result, and I have more of the red yarn than the other colours so this will be a full length scarf.

Red mohair scarf 1

About yorkshirecrafter

I live and work in West Yorkshire.  I've always enjoyed crafts of all types, from woodwork to lace-making.  I also enjoy anything mathematical, which makes knitting a favourite pastime, especially complicated designs.  I've been advising businesses and industry on environmental matters for 30 years and also have an interest in green living, especially where it saves me money. I live with my husband and our Maine Coon in a 100-year-old cottage that constantly needs something doing to it.  Fortunately, I enjoy DIY too.
This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mohair – legacy of the 80s

  1. Pingback: Baby stuff and an amethyst shawl pin | YorkshireCrafter

Please leave a reply

