One down, one to go

The first of my two chair covers is finished, apart from some sort of tab or ties to hold the rear pleat closed.  It needs a good press, but I’m pleased with it.  It certainly makes a rather horrible, cut-down, vinyl-upholstered dining chair presentable enough to go in a bedroom.

Chair cover 3

… now you don’t

Chair

Now you see it …

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chair cover 4As for the fastening at the back, I still can’t decide what’s best – a tab secured with a button or Velcro? ties or ribbons that can be tied in a bow? just a hook and eye?

I’m hoping that inspiration will strike by the time the second cover is made.

Vigneto Wrap

Knitting-wise, I’m making very slow progress with the lacy scarf I’m working on, called the Vigneto Wrap.

BdB 2It’s worked centre-out from a provisional cast on and I’m only a few inches into the first half.  I’m in a section that has a 52 row pattern repeat at present, with lace worked on every row.

It’s virtually impossible to knit it while doing anything else save breathing, which has made me a most unsociable member of my knitting group for several weeks now.  I’m inclined to give it a rest for a while by knitting something simpler that will allow me to speak while I’m in company and catch up with boxed sets on the TV when I’m alone.

 

 

About yorkshirecrafter

I live and work in West Yorkshire.  I've always enjoyed crafts of all types, from woodwork to lace-making.  I also enjoy anything mathematical, which makes knitting a favourite pastime, especially complicated designs.  I've been advising businesses and industry on environmental matters for 30 years and also have an interest in green living, especially where it saves me money. I live with my husband and our Maine Coon in a 100-year-old cottage that constantly needs something doing to it.  Fortunately, I enjoy DIY too.
This entry was posted in knitting, sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a reply

